My thoughts on my ordination

A month ago before Bishop Strong and I decided on the date of my ordination I became nervous because of my financial difficulties that I was having.  I was thinking on how in the world will I get the money so that we could go through it.  My family is having a hard time and we are having problems because our first house is facing a danger of for closure by the bank.  Then here I am telling my family that I will be ordained and they also told me that where will I get the money for the celebration? I just prayed and ask the Lord what to do.  I just said to God that if it is his will for me to be ordained then he should provide for me financially.  Because we have to buy the necessary vestments for the ordination not to mention that a simple chasuble here in the Philippines costs around 2,000 Php!  I was thinking what about the decorations, what about the food for the celebration, the transportation and also I will have to pay the driver because I don’t know how to drive.  Many things were going through my mind but God led me to partially fast and pray for three days in preparation for my ordination.

WHEN GOD GIVES YOU A VISION HE WILL ALSO GIVE PROVISION

This was the message of Bishop Strong to me on my ordination.  God didn’t fail me he provided every thing.  I was talking to my friends in the US and two of them donated for the ordination.  I was able to buy an alb for 1,000 pesos.  I was able to design and print 3 designs for the tarpaulin that will be used as center for the altar. I was able to give my mother 2,000 pesos for the food for the visitors.  I was able to give 1,000 pesos for the transportation, gasoline and payment for the driver. I just borrowed the red chasuble from IPL Art Ventayen praise God!!!  MCCPhilippines also provided food and some of my special guests brought cakes. There was an over whelming of food on that day.  We were able to give food for the care takers of that building that we rented for the ordination.  IPL Egay also brought food, provided the fare of Pastor Myke from Baguio all the way to Manila and also he rented the place that we used.  Brother Vinz helped with the music.  Sis Gina helped me with the internet connection so that Bishop Strong might be connected via Skype.  Bro. Mark donated 500 pesos and I used it for the gasoline payment.  And Brother Van designed the table of the Lord with flowers that he bought also.  IPL Art brought cake and so Atty. Angie. Brother Jed was our official photographer. Brother Val helped during the worship service. We also had 6 new visitors for that particular Sunday.  All was happy and excited. Bishop Strong was right, when God gives you a vision he will also give you provision.  Every thing was paid for.  Every thing was accounted for.  God did a miracle he provided for the ordination.

SPIRITUAL IMPORTANCE OF MY ORDINATION

1. My ordination tells me that Christ has already chosen me (John 15:16)

“Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you…”

2. Two denominations have affirmed my call to the ministry (John 8:17)

“It is also written in your law, that the testimony of two men is true…”

The Christian United Church and the Catholic Diocese of One Spirit Philippines have affirmed my call to Christ’s ministry. The Holy Bible tells us that the testimony of two men is true.  By my application of this verse in my life, two denominations have affirmed my call it means my calling is true, my calling is from God, my calling is not from men and two testimonies is enough to established that fact.

3. God sent me according to his heart (Jeremiah 3:15)

“And I will give you pastors according to mine heart, which shall feed you with knowledge and understanding…”

Bro. Val quoted this verse when he stood up for the encouragement on the offering. He told the congregation to bless the church and also to bless me.  Praise God!  He also quoted a verse in Matthew that when we honor a prophet people will also receive the prophets reward.  And he testified on how I helped him to understand homosexuality and spirituality.  IPL Lino wrote a letter on how I was used by God to feed MCC Philippines with God’s words and so is IPL Egay.  This verse is one of my favorite verses in the Bible and I love the fact that I was one of those pastors according to the heart of God.

4. The Bible historically records the office of the Elders as ordained by the Apostles. (Acts14:23)

“And when they had ordained them elders in every church, and had prayed with fasting, they commended them to the Lord, on whom they believed…”

I was ordained to the office or order of Elder in the Christian United Church and a priest in the Catholic Diocese of One Spirit Philippines.  Bishop Strong has a historic episcopate from the Old Catholic Church and Bishop Mickley is also a former Roman Catholic Priest and was consecrated a Bishop by Bishop James Burch who is also from the Independent Catholic Movement.  All of them has a historical episcopate that will be traced back to the Apostle Peter.  Historic episcopacy or some calls it apostolic succession is very important because it gives the ordained the authority to administer the sacraments and oversee the church with spiritual, moral and religious validity.  And I praise God for this great blessing!  To God be the glory and praise!!!

5.  Division in the body of Christ is not an option. I Corinthians 12:12 (NIV)

“Just as a body, though one, has many parts, but all its many parts form one body, so it is with Christ…”

I would like to share to all of you what Bishop Jim Burch of the Catholic Diocese of One Spirit wrote to Bishop Strong of the Christian United Church on the occasion of my ordination.

Dear Bishop Strong,

It was a joy to be able to have Regen Luna ordained into our two denominations.  I looked at your web page and just posted this there:

“We are in resonance with your beautiful expression of Christianity.  We honor the joy and love which shines forth in your church, and are delighted that Rev. Elder Luna was ordained simultaneously as CUC Elder and CDOS priest by Bishop Richard Mickley in Manila with the direction and blessing of Bishop Strong. The Body of Christ is now better!  Many blessings to you all!”

Perhaps this will be the beginning of a stronger bond between our so-similar expressions of Living Jesus.

Many blessings,

Jim
(Bishop Jim Burch)
The Catholic Diocese of One Spirit
www.OneSpiritCatholic.org
13419 Cavalier Woods Drive
Clifton, VA 20124
703-818-8080
BishopJim@OneSpiritCatholic.org

6. God’s calling is irrevocable. Romans 11:39 (ESV)

When God calls you, he doesn’t change his mind.  You cannot run and you cannot hide. Abraham wanted to run, so is Moses, so is Jonah but eventually they ended up doing God’s will.  And I was running through the ritual of the ordination my life flashed before me and I was there getting married to Christ.

Two years ago people were trying to destroy me to the left and to the right.  But in due time I waited for the hand of God and He vindicated me in his right time.  There is a saying that life begins at 40 and in my case its 5 years earlier.  I give back all the glory and all the praise to our Truine God, our Creator, Jesus the Christ and the Holy Spirit.  I also thank the Christian United Church and the Catholic Diocese of One Spirit. And I thank all of my brothers and sisters at MCC Philippines, my family, my friends, my partner and everyone who joined and witness this new stage of my life.  God bless us all.

2 thoughts on “My thoughts on my ordination

  1. pastor regen, little did i know that you posted a praise and detailed report about your ordination in your website. its only now that i was able to read it! and i was amazed to read your messages especially those that mentioned about what I did during the ordination. I was in tears honestly. thank you so much for the acknowledgments. these are the things that i am looking for from the pastors of MCC churches here in the Philippines. i pray that they’d also learn on how to acknowledge even with the small things done by people in the church as it encourages them to be more active and motivates them to do more for the kingdom. i know that its all about Jesus and Him as our great reward that we don’t need the praise of men, but simple acts like thanking your workers mean so much to those who work for the cause of the Kingdom. that is the kind of spirit and anointing that all 3 MCC pastors should you get from you. i don’t want to dictate them to that to their workers kasi isa ako sa mga active na worker sa church baka sabihin na napaka self-centered ko naman. honestly enough, i want them to learn not for me but for the benefit of the church because it really works. na kahit umalis ako, they will keep the same attitude that would make the church a vibrant one where people are enjoying to work for the church because their leaders are appreciative and grateful for them. kasi kung ako lang, hindi ko kailangan ang mga papuri ng kahit na sinoman because I know who I am serving. I am concerned with those who are still baby in the Lord and to those who are still coming in.

    really i didn’t expect that an acknowledgement for what i have done during your ordination like the ones that you have posted in your website kasi medyo nasanay na ako sa mga pastor sa MCC, kaya naiyak ako when i read your message.

    i felt humbled by it, thank you very much and please know that you deserve our respect and love. we honor you pastor regen.

    Val Paminiano
    MCC Makati

    • Romans 13:7 “Pay everyone whatever you owe them. If you owe taxes, pay them. If you owe tolls, pay them. If you owe someone respect, respect that person. If you owe someone honor, honor that person…”

      Hello Bro. Val, salamat at nabasa mo pala itong mga isinulat ko dito. Mahilig talaga akong magsulat ito ang isa sa mga hobby ko. Mas naeexpress ko ang aking sarili sa pagsusulat although hindi ako magaling na manunulat at kahit na may konti akong training sa call center ay mejo dispalinhado pa rin ang aking English. Salamat at naaprreciate mo ang aking mga isinulat tungkol sa iyong ginawa. Ako ay isang taong hindi palasabi pero natatandaan ko ang lahat ng mga maliliit na detalye na ginagawa sa akin ng mga tao. Salamat at dumating ka sa MCCPhilippines ngayong kailangan nila ng gaya mo. Gaya ko dinala ka ng Dios sa MCCPhilippines with a purpose. At nakita ko ang aking purpose noong magmember ako mula 2000 hanggang I ended my term as IPL in 2008.

      I appreciate everything that you are doing for God at MCCPhilippines. I am always with you in prayer and will support you as you move towards building a pentecostal church for the LGBT people. Matagal ko ng nakita na magkakaroon ng maraming iba’t-ibang community na pwedeng puntahan ang LGBT. Alam kong may mga pinagdadaanan ka ngayon sa MCCPH rest assured nasa “training ground” ka just pass it with rainbow colors. As you honor and respect me, I honor and respect you also. For I know deep inside my heart you are also will not just be an evangelist but a pastor according to God’s heart.

      Continue in what you are doing at MCC and when the time comes that God calls you. Do not hesitate. Do not waver. God is in you. God bless.

Leave a Reply

